Help / feedback

Rules

  • Majestic Titan vs Holy Knight, also Seeds of Aggression 7

    Directly under the preview there was a discussion if Majestic Titan can interact with Holy knight.
    Short Version :
    You can Force Holy knight to deal its damage to other Units, but Holy Knight can not be chosen to recieve the damage.
    Also Seeds of Aggression can deal Damage to Holy Knight.
    EDIT : The card does say 'target' which i overread. Can't use Seeds of aggression on an unexhausted Holy Knight.

    Why ? Because of the way affecting something is described in the FAQ and the way things were handled up till now, namely that event chains don't matter. (If A causes B and B causes C, the game does not rule that A causes C).
    Sources for this are further below.

    How does this affect Majestic Titan and Holy Knight ?
    1. If the Titan hits the Holy Knight the event for Befuddling Blow does definitely trigger. The Question is if Holy Knight is immune to the effect.
    Obviously the 'Befuddling Blow' is used by an opponent in the example, so the only thing that could go wrong is that it does not qualify as 'affecting'.
    The relevant part in the FAQ says

    [...] A card does not affect another card if an effect chooses it, or if it targets another card with an attack.

    Now it is not exactly clear what 'it' references, so we rewrite the statement to make talking about it a little easier.
    It either means :

    [...] A card A does not affect another card B if an effect chooses A, or if A targets another card with an attack.

    or

    [...] A card A does not affect another card B if an effect chooses B, or if B targets another card with an attack.

    The first statement is obvious. If such things needed explanation the rule book would need 10x times more text.
    (The seconds statement also seems like it could have been written in order to future proof for Seeds of aggression which just ended up not formally causing an attack.)
    But now Befuddling Blow does not (formally) affect Holy Knight and the effect has to be evaluated.

    2. What if Holy Knight is on the damage receiving side of befuddling blow.
    It would be explicitly allowed to chose (but not target) the Holy Knight by the FAQ.
    However Befuddling Blow targets the damage receiving Unit so Holy Knight would be affected, hence is immune.
    Note that the other case worked because there the Holy Knight was chosen (by the phrase '[...] that Unit [...]') and not targeted.

    Edit (all wrong, it does read target) : For Comparions : <wrong>The Card Seed Of Aggression choses both its 'targets'/chosen Units, so Holy Knight can be affected by it. This is where the 'Chain of Events' stuff is relevant.
    Yes you use a spell to cause a Unit to deal damage to Holy Knight, but that does not imply that the damage the Unit deals is caused by a spell an Opponent uses (example further below).
    Since Holy Knight is not immune to being dealt damage by a Unit, the effect concludes.it**

    Conclusion : You can Force Holy knight to deal its damage to other Units, but Holy Knight can not be chosen to receive the damage. Edit : Also Seed of Aggression can not be used on an unexhausted (opposing) Holy Knight.
    =======Sources=======

    The FAQ :

    A card affects another card or player if it attaches, destroys, removes from the game, targets with an effect, deals damage from an effect, places tokens, removes tokens, moves tokens onto or from another card, cancels it, modifies an ability, or modifies base stats of a unit. A card does not affect another card if an effect chooses it, or if it targets another card with an attack.

    Rules up till now :
    It is also established, that we do not have to keep track of what causes what.
    The main example for this comes from this thread by the User tony78000#2u2d :

    Attack with snake --> damage on illusion unit --> trigger illusion ability --> destruction of illusion unit

    The scenario with the bat attacking phoenixborn would be like this :
    Attack with bat --> activate bat swarm ability --> damage on illusion unit.

    Why would illusion trigger in the 2nd case while consume does not trigger in the 1st case ? Both wording contains "as a result of", and if we take your logic on bat case, the destruction of the unit in the 1st case is also due to the attack of the snake (that you control), hence triggering Consume. However, it has been officially ruled that Consume does not trigger in this case. By analogy, it seems legit to say that the illusion ability won't trigger in the 2nd case.

    This is the closest we can ever hope to come to logical proof without direct developer ruling.

  • Holy Knight (Impenetrable) and allied spells 1

    Hello Community

    We wonder if Magic immunity of allied spells like Meteor affects the unit?

    The skill says "Used by an opponent", if anyone here can help us.

    Thanks!

  • Ruling Question | Main Action & Side Action 4

    Hi all,

    A very basic question here as I'm about to introduce this game to my friends this week.

    In the rulebook, it says players MUST make 1 Main Action and MAY make 1 Side Action. In a 2 player game that I played with myself to get a hang of the rules, I find that the flow is very slow here, not to mention I did not make full use of my resources too.

    So my question is, do we just make 1 Main Action and an optional 1 Side Action per player and we move on to next round? Or we do this 1 Main and 1 Side Action back and forth until both player passes?

    I'm inclined to think of the latter should be the correct one, otherwise the game felt weird.

  • Question about shield mage 5

    If i have two exhausted shield mage and one hammer knight, my hammer knight life value increase to 4 or 5?

  • Some timing questions about Nightsong Cricket 4

    Can i play Cognitive Dissonance if i just got the card through the death of a Nightsong Cricket ?

    Is my just played Cognitive Dissonance already in the discard pile when i'm allowed to remove cards from each players discard pile ?

  • Focus Summon Card 2

    Players can focus summon cards even if the effect doesn't specify any focus bonus? For example, 2x Summon Emperor Lion takes one space in spellboard.

  • Q exhauted die pool 3

    If i play hiden power and i only have 1 die in my exhauted pool, the die cost in the card is payed before resolving the card effect?
    If it is this way could i get back both my exhauted die and my illussion die?

  • Magic Play Cost 1

    Hello,

    Does anyone have a conclusive interpretation on whether the "magic play cost" represents the number of die symbols or the number of dice?

    First, I'm aware that the preview article (https://www.plaidhatgames.com/news/939) explains the term saying "how many dice a card costs to play," which is pretty clear-cut. Why, then, is the wording on the reference card itself so ambiguous? What has me concerned is that, if they really meant for it to be the "number of dice," why wouldn't they just write that on the reference card? It casts doubt for me.

    I know I've seen chatter on the Slack about it, but nothing seemed overly conclusive.

    Lastly, leave it to PlaidHat to use an AMBIGUOUS card for their illustrative example. Le sigh.

  • Shared Sorrow and magic play cost 1

    Two questions in one, here, for which I haven't found an answer in any official document:

    Said in different words, what do I have to consider as the magic play cost for cards which have alternative costs or X in their cost?

  • Law of Domination Vs Holy Knight 4

    I would think either one of two things would happen.
    Either:
    A) The Holy Knight is not a valid target, even if the player you targeted wants to select it
    or B) the creature can be targeted, but it the spell would basically fizzle, because even if you're the one targeting it, it still cannot be AFFECTED by opponents spells and that spell is still an opponents spell.

    I'm more leaning towards the first though. It would not be a valid target, even if the player controlling it wanted to.