Help / feedback

targeting

So my friend and I were playing a game, and he was using a celestial knight, 3 spectral assassin's, and a shepherd of lost souls to attack my phoenixborn. I used my Beast Tamer's effect to remove 1 basic die and lower the attacking units attack by 1. He proceeded to play angelic rescue on his celestial knight to cancel the effect of my tamer. He said that my beast tamers effect targets, however the beast tamers card text doesn't specifically say "target".

So would angelic rescue work in this situation?


Comments

  • By my assumption targeting means declaring certain target (or targets) to be affected by the effect. Since Beast Tamer`s effect doesn`t say "target" and affects all units it doesn`t target.

  • In the FAQ targeting is

    'Target: A term that is used to identify that the effect of a spell, ability or dice power is directly a effecting something (including, but not limited to, an alteration spell, a unit, a player, or a Phoenixborn).'

    This means that for an spell, abilty, die power or other effect to target, the word 'target' must be used.

    For instance one hundred blades 'targets' a Phoenixborn, but doesn't 'target' any units. This means that you can play vanish to cancel the effects but not golden veil.

    Now, since diminish X doesn't 'target' a specific unit, angelic rescue cannot be used to stop it.

    It is also worth noting, however, that your friend is partially right. If angelic rescue was a legal play, it would mean that none of the units would have their attack lowered from diminish X.

    To use the one hundred blades example again, if you used vanish, no damage would be dealt to any Phoenixborn or unit, and you wouldn't get to draw a card.

  • The Game rules are to be read pedantic here.
    If the card does not read "target" you are not targeting anything.
    There are some select cards that use the word "chose" as in "chose a unit".
    That does not count as targeting.

    Some Cards even make an effort to artificially use the word target just so you can counter them.
    Ice Trap says "destroy that target unit".

  • 'Target: A term that is used to identify that the effect of a spell, ability or dice power is directly a effecting something (including, but not limited to, an alteration spell, a unit, a player, or a Phoenixborn).'

    This means that for an spell, abilty, die power or other effect to target, the word 'target' must be used.

    Thats sadly not even the reason why it must read "target". That is just a description of that it means when the word target is used - not that it has to be used.

    The real reason is this question from the FAQ :
    Q: What effects can Golden Veil cancel?
    A: Many spells, abilities, and dice powers affect a target
    unit. Golden Veil can cancel any spell, ability, or dice power
    that uses the word “target” in its effect text in reference to
    a unit, ally, or conjuration (when that spell, ability, or dice
    power is played by an opponent). Golden Veil cancels all
    of the effects of a card and not only the single effect that
    would target a unit.

    Technically this does not even say that those (effects that say "target") are the only effects that can be canceled but it if you did not need the word "target" to occur in the card text the whole answer would have no point.