Help / feedback

Summon Mind Fog Owl

Summon Mind Fog Owl

Card text

Summon Mind Fog Owl

Ready Spell - Spellboard

  1. [[main]]

  1. During a player's turn, when you would draw 1 or more cards, you may draw 1 fewer card. If you do, place this card onto your spellboard.
  2. [[main]][[exhaust]]1 [[charm:class]]1 [[basic]]: Place a Mind Fog Owl conjuration onto your battlefield.
  3. Focus 1: You may change the activation cost of this spell to [[main]] - [[exhaust]] - 1 [[charm:power]] - 1 [[discard]].
  4. Focus 2: If you cannot place a Mind Fog Owl, choose a target opponent to discard 1 card of their choice from their hand.

Comments

  • In the preview it still reads '...to your Hand' on the between Realms text of Summon Mind Fog Owl, but on the cards it says 'onto your spellboard'.

    First : Which one would you guess is actually true ? Obviously it is easier to just write nonsense than to upload a wrong picture but there were obviously changes to the card, so it might be that both versions of the card exist as a picture.
    Second : Would you say that the Focus 1 is actually something good to use ?

    Lastly i'm not sure how multiple Summons in the discard would behave.
    Let's say i would draw 1 card and use the option to draw 1 less, do all or just one Summon Mind Fog Owls get triggered ?
    It is not formally a cost so it might not be additive and i do satisfy the condition of drawing one less card.
    In that case the Focus 1 plus the 'Put into hand' text would be quite good , as you could meditate away the spell from your spellboard, draw it via any draw effect, play 2 copies, use the third copy on the discard of the focus 1 and essentially start that process over.

  • We'll have to see what the text is on the physical cards; there's several cards where the image is flat-out wrong, despite the card never receiving errata (I think Frostback Bear was one of the ones that someone pointed out most recently).

    Let's say i would draw 1 card and use the option to draw 1 less, do all or just one Summon Mind Fog Owls get triggered ?

    I believe you would only be able to trigger the Between Realms text for a single copy of Summon Mind Fog Owl per single card you failed to draw (because the "if you do" would prevent you from triggering multiple copies; I'm pretty sure you could technically declare you wanted to activate multiple ones, but when it came time to resolve them you would only be able to resolve the first because you would run out of cards to fail to draw).

  • I believe you would only be able to trigger the Between Realms text for a single copy of Summon Mind Fog Owl per single card you failed to draw

    I accept your opinion but i think the reason is arbitrary.
    If the clause was instead 'if you attacked this turn you may put this onto your spellboard' obviously you would just be allowed to put all three copies into play.
    There all 3 copies would check for the same fact 'whether you attacked or not in that turn'.

    Here it could just be the same. All 3 copies just check whether you drew 1 card less when you could have drawn at least 1 card during a players turn. For costs it would be obvious that the conditions can not all be satisfied by the same payment.
    You for example cant pay for Slash and Spear master with the same discarded card.
    However you can trigger multiple chant of revenges from a single unit death.

  • how does the between realms ability interact with abundance? would you take damage from not drawing the card/s or is it negated?

  • Without Focus you should take the damage and with Focus the normal reduction per undrawn card is applied.

  • Actually we would know if the between realms effect stacks if it had a name.
    I just noticed that all between realms effect do have a name (with or without a number).

    That makes it even more likely that this image is a prototype.

  • If the clause was instead 'if you attacked this turn you may put this onto your spellboard' obviously you would just be allowed to put all three copies into play.

    This is different, because this is a triggering condition, whereas the Between Realms text for Summon Mind Fog Owl is a cost (per p. 18 of the FAQ, the "if you do" templating in this instance means that drawing 1 fewer cards is a cost). As you stated yourself, you cannot reuse costs used to pay for one effect to pay for another effect.

  • ah i forgot that 'if you do' was a defined clause.

    Thank you

  • The plethora of phrases that mean "such and such is a cost" is one of my least favorite aspects of Ashes. The fact that phrases like "if you do" are also liberally used in contexts where they aren't costs is also extremely frustrating to me.