Help / feedback

Chant Of Sacrifice

Chant Of Sacrifice

Card text

Chant Of Sacrifice

Ready Spell - Spellboard

  1. [[main]]
  2. 1 [[ceremonial:class]]
  3. 1 [[divine:class]]

  1. After a player has declared blockers, you may place 1 exhaustion token on this spell to destroy a unit you control. If you do, for the remainder of this turn, a target unit you control adds 2 to its attack value or gains one of the following abilities:
  2. Battle Advantage: When this unit is in battle, it deals its damage before other units without Battle Advantage deal their damage.
  3. Armored 2: When this unit would receive damage, prevent 2 damage.

Comments

  • Two notes on when this card can be used:

    • "After a player has declared blockers" means after the window when a player has declared blockers has passed. The card can be activated even if a player declines to block the attack (or if the player has no units that can block).
    • Note, however, that blockers are only declared against Attack a Phoenixborn main actions. The card cannnot be used when the action was attacking a unit.
  • Note, however, that blockers are only declared against Attack a Phoenixborn main actions. The card cannnot be used when the action was attacking a unit.

    I did not notice that. Do they even say that in the preview ?
    Also i don't think it is elegant design. There is no real reason for you not to be able to sacrifice your units while attacking a Unit. I get the balance aspect but it is unintuitive.

  • I get the balance aspect but it is unintuitive.

    Yup, we're definitely playing Ashes, then. :-D

  • Play James against Fiona preconstructed for the first time today. My friend who played James thought that, if you declare 0 blockers, it does not count as declaring blockers.
    Apparently he missed out on some good attack because of that.
    I was a bit surprised as we both study mathematics and are used to this kind of wired pedantic wording.

    In his defense : Hammer Knights ability does not trigger if he has -1 Attack as he is considered to 'not deal damage'. (It's a direct example in the FAQ.)

    What would be a good way to phrase this in order to avoid such miss interpretation ?
    What do you guys think of '..after the "declare blockers" step of an attack..' ?
    Was this ambiguous to you ?
    Is the card still good enough if you read 0 blockers as not declaring blockers ?