Help / feedback

Adrenaline Rush

Adrenaline Rush

Card text

Adrenaline Rush

Reaction Spell - Discard

  1. 1 [[ceremonial:class]]

  1. You may play this spell when you would declare attackers. Deal 2 damage to a target unit you control and remove 1 exhaustion token from that unit. That unit may be declared as an attacker.

Comments

  • What happens if the unit you target has more than one exhaustion tokens? Can it still be declared as an attacker or does the token removed have to be the final one?

    I think it's obvious that the spirit of the rule is that it has to be the last one, but the letter of the rule says that it can be still be exhausted.

  • Rules for declaring attacker are not lifted by this card. I think the last sentence is more a clarification that the card takes action just before you declare attackers, so that a newly unexhausted card to still can be chosen. However, the card only works if you have another unexhausted unit so that you could actually declare attackers without the unexhaustion effect.

  • What if that unexhausted unit is biter ? or a mind mazed unit ?

  • We had a thread about this already. The clause "may" does not override any restrictions.
    You are only allowed to declare attackers that could normally be declared as attackers.

    For example take any Unit with 3 or more remaining life and at least 2 exhaustion tokens on it.
    Lets say you have another unexhausted Unit such that so that you can declare an attack.
    If you react with adrenalin rush and remove one Exhaustion from the first Mentioned Unit you can not declare it as an attack because it is still exhausted.
    For contrast it would break the game if you were allowed to attack with that Unit since the "you may declare that Unit as an attacker" is not limited to the turn or the round. You would just be allowed to forever attack with that Unit after your opponent has spent all his actions, which would win you the game in a lot of situations.

  • assume i have only one unit on the board and it is exhausted. Can i enter step Would declare attackers and use this card to unexhaust this unit?

  • assume i have only one unit on the board and it is exhausted. Can i enter step Would declare attackers and use this card to unexhaust this unit?

    No. In order to declare attackers you need at least one viable attacker.
    The FAQ even lists this as an example.

    The word 'would' only states at what time you resolve the effect.
    That time is relative to a declared attack - no attack => no valid trigger.

    Otherwise you would be able to seriously overuse an Elephant Rider on turn one with Adrenaline Rush and Sword of Virtue.

    However once you have entered the declare attack step you may activate adrenalin rush and have only the target of adrenaline rush attack.
    You can also have the target not attack but in that case you must declare some unit as an attacker.