Help / feedback

Recent Activity

  • Chris CD#25gy commented on the post Ashes 1.5 announced on TC Stream:

    Aug 11, 2020 PDT

    Seems easy enough to tag each card in a new column or field as either 1.0 or 1.5 or Project Phoenix. The real challenge is in figuring out how to present that to the user in the most optimal way. Presumably the 1.5 content is the best to have center-stage as it will have the most interest, but I know for myself I’d like to be able to see the legacy cards and decks too. Tricky. Don’t envy you the job.

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the post Ashes 1.5 announced on TC Stream:

    Aug 10, 2020 PDT

    How will the site handle custom and official content now that the game is undead?

    I haven't figured that out yet, so if you have any suggestions I would love to hear!

    All I have at this point are some sort of vague goals:

    • I want to support the new 1.5 cards
    • I don't want people to lose access to their old 1.0 decks
    • I don't want to completely remove all the old 1.0 information, but I also don't want it to be mixed into or confuse-able with the new 2.0 stuff
    • I would still like to offer the Project Phoenix stuff for download, but again not prominent (more archival)

    Curious if there will be a collection setting to show hide what you own or toggles for those kinds of content?

    This is already available in the deck builder; are you asking for that in the main card listing, as well?

  • IrishMike#5z6r commented on the post Ashes 1.5 announced on TC Stream:

    Aug 10, 2020 PDT

    How will the site handle custom and official content now that the game is undead?

    Curious if there will be a collection setting to show hide what you own or toggles for those kinds of content?

    Lots to think about I guess, Thanks!

  • IrishMike#5z6r commented on the post Ashes 1.5 announced on TC Stream:

    Aug 09, 2020 PDT

    Its Happening!!!

    From the website:

    Aug. 9, 12:42PM CST; We made it. We have 100% of the players necessary for Ashes to be Reborn!

  • angus#5nar commented on the post Ashes 1.5 announced on TC Stream:

    Aug 06, 2020 PDT

    just remember that project phoenix is entirely separate. it is not designed to be compatible with ashes 1.5 or any time cards the PHG may release in the future.

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the post Ashes 1.5 announced on TC Stream:

    Aug 06, 2020 PDT

    Links you'll care about:

    Project Phoenix will likely go on hiatus since we have official Time releases already announced (Jericho Kill will be the mono-Time Phoenixborn in a deluxe expansion that will be out about 3 months after the initial conversion box), although I am hoping we can release the two decks that are mostly playtested at this point for those who want to play our alternate reality Time cards. :-)

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Silver Snake:

    Aug 03, 2020 PDT

    Steps 2b, which consists of triggered effects, resolves simultaneously for both Units.

    This is not how it works. Damage is dealt simultaneously for combat, but you resolve two distinct DDRP instances (one for each instance of damage) in the order of the active player’s choosing.

    You never resolve multiple instances of damage concurrently.

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Silver Snake:

    Aug 03, 2020 PDT

    Short Answer : The Snake eats the Unit, but reason might be wrong.

    Long Answer :
    Combat damage is not resolved in any order but simultaneously. There is a rule that, if triggered effects were to be resolved at the same time, they would need to be ordered by the active player or whoever has the starting player token.
    However combat resolution is excluded from this as it is not what the game calls a triggered effect.
    Effects are things you do because they are on a cards text body. Combat resolution is not such a thing.

    We know this is the intended interpretation because of the errata to Spiked Armor :

    Spiked Armor
    Spiked Skin 2 now reads, “When this unit is dealt damage by
    one or more attacking or countering units, deal 2 damage
    to each unit that is attacking or countering this unit.”

    Here they had to (paradoxically) remove the word 'simultaneously' to make the effect actually happen simultaneously.
    Before the errata (see picture Spiked Armor), the word 'simultaneous' in the triggered effect forced the active player to chose an order, which was unintended.
    After the errata (see above) the resolution happens as part of combat, which is actually always simultaneously.
    If the above reasoning was wrong, they would not have needed to change the wording.

    What are the implications ?
    'Simultaneously' just means that the game does not have game states for intermediate results : Lets say you Have 2 Iron Rhinos without wounds in play and somehow have to place 1 wound token on each of them simultaneously by combat resolution.
    The Game starts in a State where both Units have 0 Wounds on them goes into a state where both where both have 1 Wound on them. Where is no in between state where just 1 Rhino has 1 Wound on it while the other is still to receive a wound.

    So the Unit and the Snake deal damage to each other leading to mutual destruction.
    The FAQ gives the steps of unit destruction in detail :

    Step 2b: Effects that trigger on a unit’s destruction or a
    Phoenixborn’s destruction happen now.
    • Step 3: A destroyed Phoenixborn’s controller loses the
    game. A destroyed unit is discarded.

    Steps 2b, which consists of triggered effects, resolves simultaneously for both Units. This is a thing which can be ordered by the active player.
    However :
    The Snake is not yet discarded when the trigger for Consume is resolved, because steps 3 happens after step 2b in all cases.

    Because we come to the same result, it does not really matter for this which argument is correct.

    However by my logic the snake also consumes any attackers if it is countering given enough damage.

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the post First two fan expansions released!:

    Aug 02, 2020 PDT

    Not in the main card gallery, but you can setup your collection in the deck-builder, which will restrict which cards show up there.

  • Chevko#5n7s commented on the post First two fan expansions released!:

    Aug 02, 2020 PDT

    Just to check: Is there a way to remove the custom cards from search? I haven't used the site in quite a while..

  • angus#5nar commented on the deck 0-Attack Allies:

    Jul 19, 2020 PDT

    Always great to see a new player!

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Crimson Bomber:

    Jul 16, 2020 PDT

    So it counts as 3 separate damages even if it targets the same one unit?

    No; it's max one damage to each of up to three separate units. If you have only one unit, then you only deal one damage.

  • lhurgoyf#7ij! commented on the card Crimson Bomber:

    Jul 16, 2020 PDT

    So it counts as 3 separate damages even if it targets the same one unit?

  • spiderman#77sm commented on the post Plutarch Previews Part 2: Dealing in Death:

    Jul 15, 2020 PDT

    Awesome! Love this. Thanks so much for all the work you've put in!

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Silver Snake:

    Jul 15, 2020 PDT

    Because the damage is dealt simultaneously, you resolve the damage in the order of the attacking player's choosing. So in this instance, they would probably resolve the damage on the opponent's unit first, removing them from the game with Consume, and then resolve the damage on the Snake, killing it, too.

  • Migija#2eol commented on the card Silver Snake:

    Jul 15, 2020 PDT

    Hi, I've a question about this part of card description : "If the destroyed unit was an ally, remove it from the game."

    Here is the case : during an attack, the unit the snake is attacking does a counter attack. The previous injuries make both units being destroy. So, I'm asking if the opponent unit must be remove from the game whereas the snake has been destroyed too during the move...

    Thx for the answer Skaak :-)

  • angus#5nar commented on the card Seeds Of Aggression:

    Jul 11, 2020 PDT

    It is a pretty good rule of thumb for all of ashes. it it isn't specified that it needs to be x (wounded, unexhausted...), you assume it doesn't need to be.

  • lhurgoyf#7ij! commented on the card Seeds Of Aggression:

    Jul 09, 2020 PDT

    Glad to hear that. That's how it makes sense when you compare the two cards. (y)

  • angus#5nar commented on the card Seeds Of Aggression:

    Jul 09, 2020 PDT

    nope. if doesnt specifically say they need to be unexhausted, exhausted is fine.

  • angus#5nar commented on the card Devlin Longbow:

    Jul 09, 2020 PDT

    no