Help / feedback

Recent Activity [p. 6]

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Astrea:

    Apr 30, 2019 PDT

    First : You may use it on opponents turn.

    We know that Beguile can be used during any players turn because it was described that way in the preview of the card by plaidhat.

    Then :
    The Word would is a timing indicator. Normally you can only do things before or after a trigger and Ashes does not use the word 'before'.
    Instead they say 'would' as to indicate that whatever trigger you have gets pushed back on the timeline to make space for whatever is triggered.
    You could also say it this way :
    Now that Astrea is printed, every Attack has another first step 'Beguile-opportunity' which all players have to go through, which happens before the step that was commonly known as 'declaring an attack action'.

    Usually when you do any type of action in a game with interrupts the official version is that you can only really state an intent and then resolve what ever is the result after a bunch of reactions.
    Ashes does not directly phrase it that way in any rules document, but in effect it is the same.

    The whole 'stating an intent' thing is a can of worms itself, do not go into to deeply unless technicalities are amusing to you.

    Astrea player must stop him or her to continue to speak

    No, Astrea being available is public information. The player who is attacking needs to give you an opportunity to react. If they rush through the steps and get a disadvantage from that, it is their fault.

  • doktarr#0a=m commented on the deck Fight for the Living:

    Apr 30, 2019 PDT

    Nature's wrath is also not a bad thing for this deck once the Shadow Spirits and Butterfly Monks get focused, anyway.

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Salamander Monk:

    Apr 30, 2019 PDT

    i did mean conjurations.

  • storage123#68pr commented on the card Astrea:

    Apr 30, 2019 PDT

    I am kinda confused by the the wordings of the effect of this card

    It said "When a player would declare attackers" as the conditions to trigger the effect....so....which of the following is correct?

    (a) The effect can be triggered only in my turn, as only I can tell if I would declare attack or not. (If my opponent said I know you would declare attack, I can simply deny it) So before I really declare attackers, I use Beguile, carry out its effect, and then "declare attackers".

    (b) The effect can be triggered in both my turn and my opponent turn, the sequence should be any player declare that the main action is to attack, Astrea player must stop him or her to continue to speak, (I guess it is normally to say "I am going to attack your phoenixborn with unit A,B,C" or "I will use unit D & E to attack your unit F" etc.) and then use Beguile, carry out its effect and carry on.

    (c) Other answer

  • Kalriva#1sqf commented on the deck Fight for the Living:

    Apr 30, 2019 PDT

    Its got both :p

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Salamander Monk:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    what tokens are you talking about?

    Probably meant "conjurations"; there are 2x Salamander Monk and 3x Salamander Monk Spirit.

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Transmute Magic:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    This card also doubles as a way to screw your opponent over, since you can adjust two of their dice to a [[basic]] face. Note, however, that doing so means they could Vanish or potentially Veil of Reversal all of your dice away, so if those are likely to show up you need to be careful.

  • angus#5nar commented on the card Salamander Monk:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    all five of the tokens

    what tokens are you talking about?

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t published a deck!

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    Transmutation Xander

    Xander Heartsblood

  • GoldenPhoenix#10+h published a deck!

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    Overide

    Lulu Firststone

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Salamander Monk:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    This with Polarity Mage and Massive Growth or Holy Relics enables you to use the attachments multiple times for 'little' cost.
    Summon Salamander Monk and attach something to the monk and have it attack afterwards. If it has wounds on it you can now play Polarity mage and use 'take' to kill the monk, and then use 'give' to reattach whatever you have taken to the Monk Spirit.
    Depending on dice you can force wounds with adrenalin rush or something similar.

    While Flute Mage has a similar effect this allows for more of the same which is good. Also this has the advantage of actually getting all 5 of the tokens on the board while Flute Mage might not do that.

    For this trick you need attachments that grant +Life and some other bonus that you want to harvest. Technically Amplify and Spiked Armor could work too.

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Nightsong Cricket:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    In round 1 you can meditate the summon away to get it back with this, potentially enabling you to summon 5 times.
    Also works great with Heal, if you can manage your discard pile.

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Reaping Angel:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    Can use Sustain 1 on itself with the following uses :

    • The damage amplification by Hunters Mark can be prevented if only 1 damage was dealt.
    • The source of the wound is now no longer the opponent but a Unit you control. If this would die to 1 damage you can use Sustain 1 to prevent reactions like Harvest Soul, or Silver Snakes ability, as these require the opponent to be the source.
  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Transmute Magic:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    that is what it is for.

    In addition it allows you to cheat your dice distribution.
    If you have 5 [[ceremonial]] and 5 [[Sympathy]] you can first use 5 [[ceremonial]] then use transmute magic and use another 4 [[ceremonial]].
    That is probably where the card gets its name from.
    Usually only the first 3 to 4 mediations per round really matter, the rest is essentially eye candy. Effectively changing the dice distribution for the round is the real deal.

    If you use more than 2 colors the effect is more impactful.
    Paying 1 die for the privilege is a lot but it allows for very surprising lines of play.
    For example you might be able to summon 2 Emperor Lions with just 2 [[Divine]] in your dice pool, which your opponent might not have seen coming (for good reason).

    Main Use case seems to be that you pay for 3 cards with 3 Magic Play Cost over the course of the round, then the 1 die cost does not matter. In a sense this enables you to play stupidly aggressive with 3 cost allies that do not fit your dice pool at all.

    Lastly, if X>2 you can activate Magic Purity or Lucky Rabbit.

  • angus#5nar commented on the deck Fight for the Living:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    why are you using natures wrath instead of mist typhoon?

  • doktarr#0a=m published a deck!

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    Fight for the Living

    Namine Hymntide

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the post No more Decks:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    Back when I joined, I received an email with the subject that ended with "has invited you to join a Slack workspace" (first bit is a person's name; presumably the person who created the Slack channel), and it was from the address [email protected]

    Weird that it won't just re-send the email.

  • kapitan#4=pg published a deck!

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    Slash 'n' Ride v2

    Coal Roarkwin

  • angus#5nar commented on the card Transmute Magic:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    thanks for the addition kapitan#4=pg! I primarily think of hidden power as recursion (which you pointed out) instead of as fixing, which is why I overlooked it.

  • kapitan#4=pg commented on the card Transmute Magic:

    Apr 29, 2019 PDT

    It actually doesn't have to be "the one" [[sympathy:class]] to stay in your exhausted pool. It can be any die and the [[sympathy:class]] could come back as a [[sympathy]] if you would need it.

    @angus#5nar I think Hidden Power should also belong to the list. It might even be the one closest to Transmute Magic in effect, as it recurrs and fixes dice, but the main difference is that Transmute Magic is a net loss of dice while Hidden Power is a net win.