Help / feedback

Recent Activity [p. 5]

  • Rafix#71py commented on the post Meta and tips:

    May 07, 2019 PDT

    First of all deck must have 30 cards in it there is no option to have less.
    Second it looks like having problem with defending against Phoenixborn with high battlefield.

  • Meta and tips 7

    New player here. Just wanna know what is the favourite meta for constructed decks. I dont like the idea of certain cards being the hot favourite due to their meta tactics.

    I like the idea of Ashes 500, as it's supposed to give penalty points for cheap OP combinations, but my friend went and construct this deck.

    Lulu Firststone 499/500 with 27 cards
    5 [[ceremonial]] 5 [[illusion]]

    Phoenix Barrage
    Shifting Mist
    Abundance
    Stormwind Sniper
    Bound Soul
    Hidden Power
    Final Cry
    Expand Energy
    Fire Archer

    Plainly direct damage to Phoenixborn.

    Is this considered OP? How would i counter this with low HP Phoenixborn? Very curious on the community response.

  • ShiningAquas#5683 published a deck!

    May 05, 2019 PDT

    Cat Pounce

    Aradel Summergaard

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the post How long for reprints?:

    May 04, 2019 PDT

    Plaid Hat hasn't said anything about whether the game will be going out of print or not, so it's anybody's guess. Based on their treatment of past games, they're likely to keep it in print as long as it continues to sell. I'm extremely pessimistic we'll see a reprinting of the promos, but they did reprint the extra dice recently so you never know.

  • How long for reprints? 4

    I can snap up what my local store has, but I won't be able to for a bit - that'll total around 90 for what's in stock, but that's not everything. Do we have any idea of when the cutoff time will be? Also, is there any chance to get hands on Lulu and Orrick? Or are we limited to literally printing them out?

  • Chevko#5n7s commented on the post No more Decks:

    May 04, 2019 PDT

    Glad the Slack link is there, but I don't use it... When should we expect the Discord bot to be back up and running? It's been down for several months now.

  • TacticalDragon#8k94 commented on the deck iOS update CD v2:

    May 02, 2019 PDT

    I really like this deck, has good mix of aggro, deck mill and field control.

  • GojiraGuitar#4=54 commented on the deck iOS update CD v2:

    May 02, 2019 PDT

    iOS actually comes from the actual original deck (made by me), someone abbreviated the name and it stuck.

    Link: https://play.plaidhatgames.com/ashes/deck/illusion-other-side-v1

  • storage123#68pr commented on the card Astrea:

    May 02, 2019 PDT

    Thanks so much for all the people that help to solve this issue!

    You've got three options if having an explicitly defined rule for this matters to you a lot:

    I actually have no preference on this. For me, rules are very important for making the games to run smoothly, I do not mind accepting new rules as long as it is fair and we are following the same rules.

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Astrea:

    May 01, 2019 PDT

    who should be the one that declare to use the ability first is critical

    You are entirely correct; this is one of the two big oversights in the core rules (the other being that there's no explicit timing defined for when you pay costs upon declaring a card or effect).

    You've got three options if having an explicitly defined rule for this matters to you a lot:

    • House rule it
    • Abide by the suggested unofficial ruling in my Ashes Rules Reference (section 5.4.1 on p. 11)
    • Help me test out my Raven Rules (WIP; this is compatible with the core rulebook, but wholly replaces the official FAQ and uses declaration order instead of "active player picks" for resolving simultaneous triggers)
  • storage123#68pr commented on the card Astrea:

    May 01, 2019 PDT

    I thought this is an issue as I believe the first one that announce to use (or not to use) is somehow disadvantaged. And when it is about the end of the game, who should be the one that declare to use the ability first is critical.

    Player A decides to resolve their Astrea's ability first. They pay the cost (exhausting Astrea), then exhaust one of their units to exhaust one of their opponent's units. Player B then resolves their Astrea's ability by paying the cost (exhausting Astrea). If Player A exhausted their last unit, that's the end of things (and they really should have thought things through better!). Otherwise, they exhaust a unit to exhaust one of Player A's units. If Player A still has unexhausted units, the attack proceeds. Otherwise, the action is lost.

    Here is another example of which player to declare first matters.

    If Player A has 2 unit unexhausted, Player B has 1 only and Player A declare to attack Player B's phoenixborn. So, it is clear that it is Player A's turn and Player A will decide which Beguile will carry out its effect first (if both player decide to use Beguile)

    If Player A is the first player to announce to use Beguile or not,
    If Player A says yes for Beguile, Player B will definitely say no as Player A will exhaust Player B's last unit and make Player B's Beguile cannot be used.

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Astrea:

    May 01, 2019 PDT

    There is a rule that if a series of event would happen at the same time, then active player chooses in what order they are resolved

    To expand on this: the Ashes rules have no explicitly-defined method for activating effects. It effectively boils down to all players declaring their responses to a specific trigger, and then the active player decides which order things resolve.

    In practice, people usually go clockwise around the table. So Player A says "I'm taking an attack a Phoenixborn action, and I will use Astrea's Beguile ability." Player B then says, "I will also activate Astrea's Beguile ability."

    Player A decides to resolve their Astrea's ability first. They pay the cost (exhausting Astrea), then exhaust one of their units to exhaust one of their opponent's units. Player B then resolves their Astrea's ability by paying the cost (exhausting Astrea). If Player A exhausted their last unit, that's the end of things (and they really should have thought things through better!). Otherwise, they exhaust a unit to exhaust one of Player A's units. If Player A still has unexhausted units, the attack proceeds. Otherwise, the [[main]] action is lost.

  • lidjan1#40jr commented on the card Astrea:

    May 01, 2019 PDT

    There is a rule that if a series of event would happen at the same time, then active player chooses in what order they are resolved

  • storage123#68pr commented on the card Astrea:

    May 01, 2019 PDT

    I agree that Astrea's ability seems somehow add a step after declare attack but before declare attacker.

    Would the situation be more complicated when both player is using Astrea? After someone declare to have an attack, both Astrea will have the chance to use beguile. Who should be the one that announce to use beguile first?

    There should be a player to decide to use beguile first follow by the other one. And I guess once the "first" player decided, the "second" player will have to decide based on the decision made by the "first" player.

    If ....

    Player A & B both use Astrea, and player A is having the first player token while player B is declaring attack.

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card String Mage:

    May 01, 2019 PDT

    She is really good against the strategy where your opponent wants to attack with 1 Fallen over multiple turns.
    As Fallen usually get summoned in pairs of two she can blocks 1 Fallen without counter, then sends the damage token to the other.

  • Do the reprints include the errata 0

    In the "Ashes is a finished product now" post from plaidhat they mentioned a reprint of the base game.
    Has anyone bought said reprint and can confirm that they do included the enchanted violinist errata (and the others) ?

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Astrea:

    May 01, 2019 PDT

    ups. Yeah i thought it said "when you would declare an attack" and did not read the card again.
    Declaring attackers is a substep of any attack and its not the first step so it is like in doktarrs example.

  • TacticalDragon#8k94 published a deck!

    Apr 30, 2019 PDT

    Dark Arrows

    Noah Redmoon

  • doktarr#0a=m commented on the card Astrea:

    Apr 30, 2019 PDT

    It's not as complex as all that. There's no new "beguile opportunity" step. The step of declaring attackers is the first thing you do after you announce the action you are taking, which is either "attack a Phoenixborn" or "attack a unit". So the "would declare attackers" step occurs after you announce the action and before you declare the attackers.

    This is the same as any other interrupt. Interrupts are always a bit tedious but it's not really any different than stopping to see if your opponent has Choke or Angelic Rescue. You just have to be aware if it's possible and leave the time for it.

    Player A: "I am attacking your Phoenixborn"
    Player B: "I declare beguile" [pays exhaust cost on Astrea]. "I am targeting this unit I control and that unit you control"
    Player A: "No reaction" (i.e. not using Choke, Angelic Rescue, or Golden Veil to prevent Beguile)
    Player B: "OK" [places exhaust tokens on the units]
    Player A: "OK, I declare this unit as the attacker" (or, if no units are available, the action ends)

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Astrea:

    Apr 30, 2019 PDT

    One of the main uses of Beguile comes from its wired timing.

    If you have a turtle Guard and a Hammer Knight and declare an attack against my phoenixborn, after beguile has exhausted one of my units and your hammer knight you still are obligated to perform an attack, forcing you to attack with a turtle guard.