Help / feedback

Recent Activity [p. 4]

  • angus#5nar commented on the card Summon Mind Fog Owl:

    Jan 15, 2019 PST

    how does the between realms ability interact with abundance? would you take damage from not drawing the card/s or is it negated?

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Summon Mind Fog Owl:

    Jan 15, 2019 PST

    I believe you would only be able to trigger the Between Realms text for a single copy of Summon Mind Fog Owl per single card you failed to draw

    I accept your opinion but i think the reason is arbitrary.
    If the clause was instead 'if you attacked this turn you may put this onto your spellboard' obviously you would just be allowed to put all three copies into play.
    There all 3 copies would check for the same fact 'whether you attacked or not in that turn'.

    Here it could just be the same. All 3 copies just check whether you drew 1 card less when you could have drawn at least 1 card during a players turn. For costs it would be obvious that the conditions can not all be satisfied by the same payment.
    You for example cant pay for Slash and Spear master with the same discarded card.
    However you can trigger multiple chant of revenges from a single unit death.

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Summon Nightsong Cricket:

    Jan 15, 2019 PST

    Normally in predicate logic when this occurs (referencing an object that does not exist) all references equal true, as there is no counterexample.

    E.g. : Mind Fog Owl says : Unseen: This unit cannot be blocked unless all attacking units without the Unseen ability have been blocked.
    when you only attack with Mind Fog Owls the sentence is equivalent to :
    This unit cannot be blocked unless 'true'. (as there is no Unit without unseen)
    Which is equivalent to : This Unit can be blocked.

    Here you would have ;
    if you did not Meditate this turn, after this card is discarded from your hand, you may spend 1 to place it onto your spellboard.
    which is equivalent to
    if 'true', after this card is discarded from your hand, you may spend 1 to place it onto your spellboard. (as there is no turn in which you meditated)
    which is obviously equivalent to :
    after this card is discarded from your hand, you may spend 1 to place it onto your spellboard.

    In short : I don't think it really requires a turn to be there in the way it is written.
    But the Intention of the author might still be different.

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Summon Mind Fog Owl:

    Jan 15, 2019 PST

    We'll have to see what the text is on the physical cards; there's several cards where the image is flat-out wrong, despite the card never receiving errata (I think Frostback Bear was one of the ones that someone pointed out most recently).

    Let's say i would draw 1 card and use the option to draw 1 less, do all or just one Summon Mind Fog Owls get triggered ?

    I believe you would only be able to trigger the Between Realms text for a single copy of Summon Mind Fog Owl per single card you failed to draw (because the "if you do" would prevent you from triggering multiple copies; I'm pretty sure you could technically declare you wanted to activate multiple ones, but when it came time to resolve them you would only be able to resolve the first because you would run out of cards to fail to draw).

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Summon Nightsong Cricket:

    Jan 15, 2019 PST

    I don't believe you can trigger the Between Realms text outside of the Player Turns Phase (since it explicitly requires a turn as part of its triggering condition), and discarding cards at the beginning of the game is part of the Prepare Phase.

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Summon Nightsong Cricket:

    Jan 14, 2019 PST

    So can you use this before turn 1 and pay the [[basic]] to place it onto your spellboard.
    Logically you did not meditate that turn, as there was no turn, but i'm not sure if that is really the intended interaction.

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Summon Mind Fog Owl:

    Jan 14, 2019 PST

    In the preview it still reads '...to your Hand' on the between Realms text of Summon Mind Fog Owl, but on the cards it says 'onto your spellboard'.

    First : Which one would you guess is actually true ? Obviously it is easier to just write nonsense than to upload a wrong picture but there were obviously changes to the card, so it might be that both versions of the card exist as a picture.
    Second : Would you say that the Focus 1 is actually something good to use ?

    Lastly i'm not sure how multiple Summons in the discard would behave.
    Let's say i would draw 1 card and use the option to draw 1 less, do all or just one Summon Mind Fog Owls get triggered ?
    It is not formally a cost so it might not be additive and i do satisfy the condition of drawing one less card.
    In that case the Focus 1 plus the 'Put into hand' text would be quite good , as you could meditate away the spell from your spellboard, draw it via any draw effect, play 2 copies, use the third copy on the discard of the focus 1 and essentially start that process over.

  • I would have really liked a card that works around Holy Knights impenetrable.

    At least we got reclaim soul for the turn one elephant rider.

  • Yeah, choosing an opponent is indeed different from targeting (unless the card says "Choose target player", I suppose, though I don't think there are to date any cards that directly target a non-game element). Seeds of Aggression indeed chooses two target units, though.

  • We had the same discussion when i asked about Law of Banishment being counter able.
    There i was told that 'chosing' an opponent is in fact different from targeting.
    I think it was even you who said it.

    I overread the the 'target Unit' though. So you are still right.