Help / feedback

Recent Activity [p. 2]

  • Cloudbuilder#4n98 published a deck!

    Jul 08, 2019 PDT

    Undying phalanx

    Xander Heartsblood

  • Drafting Options 1

    I really enjoy a good draft, but it is frustrating having to take one of each card from all the decks to do so.
    Which got me thinking ... there must be a way to do this digitally.
    So, how people draft? Is there an online app/tool that would let us randomise and choose from the card list?

    Cheers

  • angus#5nar commented on the card Ancestral Army:

    Jun 29, 2019 PDT

    thanks!

  • Thanks for the kind words Carl!!

  • lidjan1#40jr commented on the card Ancestral Army:

    Jun 28, 2019 PDT

    Thank you very much. Unfortunatelly I am big fan of this game but to find someone to play with is almost impossible for me. But if I do get occasion i will inform you immediatelly.

  • NIUMath#1tss published a deck!

    Jun 27, 2019 PDT

    Finish Your Collection Tournament - 2nd Place Ruby's Push v3

    Harold Westraven

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Ancestral Army:

    Jun 27, 2019 PDT

    Raven Rules are a drop-in replacement for the official FAQ (but remain 100% compatible with the core rulebook), which fix a bunch of my long-standing annoyances with the Ashes ruleset. You can download them here:

    https://ashes.live/files/ashes-raven-rules.pdf

    If you try them out, I'd love to hear any feedback you have!

  • lidjan1#40jr commented on the card Ancestral Army:

    Jun 26, 2019 PDT

    What are theese raven rules?

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Law Of Assurance:

    Jun 26, 2019 PDT

    Technically per RAW nothing affects your active dice pool because the definition for "affect" only covers card interactions (and says nothing about rolling dice, changing dice facings, etc.). That's clearly not PHG's intention, though.

    There's one semi-relevant FAQ entry:

    Q: Can I play Anguish if Law of Assurance is on my spellboard?
    A: Yes, but your opponent cannot allow you to move 2 dice to their exhausted pool, and therefore, must place 2 wounds on their Phoenixborn.

    This suggests that moving dice from the active pool to the exhausted pool "affects" the active pool, but of course that's moving from active to exhausted (and moving is by FAQ definition different than placing).

    My personal gut feeling is that anything that changes a dice pool "affects" it. So removing dice, moving dice, changing the facings of dice, and adding or placing dice. You'll have to make your own personal ruling, though, since PHG isn't going to.

    If you're playing by Raven Rules, "affect" is defined slightly differently:

    Affect: a card affects another card or player if it directly changes the game state for that card or player

    I should probably adjust this definition to make it more explicitly applicable to game locations other than cards and players, but it at least supports the ruling I suggested above (since the game state of your active dice pool is the number, type, and facings of dice in your pool; change any one of those things, and the game state for the active pool has changed, thus it's affected).

    tl;dr I believe that yes, Law of Assurance should block the re-rolled die from Reclaim Soul if you target an enemy unit.

  • Skaak#1st! commented on the card Ancestral Army:

    Jun 26, 2019 PDT

    Huh, that's an interesting question. I think technically in Raven Rules you would indeed dodge the damage completely, since "don't deal this damage to your Phoenixborn" is very clearly a separate clause that doesn't depend on "Instead deal that damage to a target unit" so the targeting restriction wouldn't kill the effect until after the damage was prevented.

    That's a little weird, admittedly, but I'm not sure if it warrants a revision to Raven Rules (particularly since Ancestral Army kind of sucks anyway).

  • angus#5nar commented on the card Ancestral Army:

    Jun 26, 2019 PDT

    No. You must declare targets before resolving a cards effect. So in this case, ancestral army would be declared as a target before redirect does its thing. Since AA cannot be targeted, it is not a valid target. However, skaak#1sst if you read this, I would be interested to hear how raven rules deal with this.

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Ancestral Army:

    Jun 26, 2019 PDT

    How does this interact with Redirect?
    Redirect says i may play it if i have at least 1 unit in play but does not test if the unit can be a target of the effect.
    If i only have Ancestral Army in play and play Redirect, i can't perform the 'instead deal that damage to a target Unit' part but i can do the 'do not deal that damage to your Phoenixborn part.
    Is Redirect a free Heal at that point ?

    (This does not work if you have other Units in play that can be targeted by redirect.)

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Law Of Assurance:

    Jun 26, 2019 PDT

    Can this block the re roll from Reclaim Soul (if targeted at an enemy) ?
    The Card says that the active dice pools cannot be affected and one could read that as 'the exhausted dice pool is fine' but in the end the active dice pool has something placed in it.
    It is similar to moving a token onto a Unit which is 'affecting' that Unit.

  • Marimbist11#27c* commented on the deck Fear the Bear (4th at Complete Your Collection):

    Jun 25, 2019 PDT

    Thanks @bbroughm! Congrats on the victory!

  • ChristianPratt#14mt published a deck!

    Jun 25, 2019 PDT

    New Luck

    Coal Roarkwin

  • Gekoga#7rxd commented on the deck Flash Fire (Complete Your Collection Tournament):

    Jun 25, 2019 PDT

    I believe I ended up 14th. I saw the final standings on Facebook somewhere but now I can’t find it to confirm.

  • jbensley#3j1m published a deck!

    Jun 25, 2019 PDT

    Dead Shadows

    Coal Roarkwin

  • jbensley#3j1m published a deck!

    Jun 25, 2019 PDT

    Majestic Maeoni 499

    Maeoni Viper

  • Leonard03#9-oh commented on the deck Flash Fire (Complete Your Collection Tournament):

    Jun 25, 2019 PDT

    Mind if I ask what your final position was in the tournament? I'm trying to collect all the decks shared from the tournament here: https://www.reddit.com/r/AshesGame/comments/c44i6y/congratulations_to_the_winner_of_the_complete/

  • Thanks Angus!!