Help / feedback

Recent Activity

  • Big deckbuilder update is live!

    Featuring new deckbuilding tools to make choosing a dice spread easier and quality-of-life improvements across the site!


  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Augury:

    Feb 18, 2019 PST

    Is this like Blood Puppet and i am supposed to play it onto the opponents spell board ?

    Kowalski analysis !
    The Rules only say that you play your cards on the placement zones indicated on the cards, not that they have to be yours. The also heavily suggest that they mean your zones but i am going to ignore that for humors sake.

    Now playing a Ready Spell onto an opponents spell board does nothing bad unless the spell is bound because you can just meditate it away.
    Only Law Spells, Gates Thrown Open and Augury have bound.

    If you were allowed to play Ready spells in the opponents Zones we must check what happens for laws.
    Mostly their permanent effects are symmetrical. But they all have an asymmetric effect then they come into play.
    If we read them always from the perspective of the player that owns the spell board the spell enters (which you probably should not) there is no reason to play most Laws onto the opponents spell board.
    Here is what they would do :

    • Law Assurance Goes from being virtually free to costing 2 and giving the opponent 2 dice.
    • Law of Sight Opponent draws 2 cards
    • Law of Fear Up to 3 Units have +1 attack until the end of >this< turn
    • Law of Banishment One of your ready spells exhaust and they can remove LoB via the effect instead of you.
    • Law of Domination They chose their Unit first and you second instead of the other way around.
    • Law of Preservation They get the Heal should they own an Ally.

    But all of these go at the end of the round and you might not be able to play onto the opponents Spell board later because it is full. The usage is very limited.
    Only Law of Fear is non negative in its effect and it would even still fit the name of the Card.

    Don't do that. Even Aradels base deck can spend 4 dice from hand.

    Augury however behaves mostly like a blood puppet in that it costs dice and occupies space. It is also not a permanent block but is removed slow enough to be relevant.
    The Card draw is still bad enough to not be considered a huge advantage for the opponent. You all know the card. They even have to show you what they draw. It is hardly a compensation for the occupied spell board slot.
    And of course, like a good intrusive card - Augury is bound, meaning that you can sometimes even focus it for the opponent.
    And there still is "counter play" with Dispel, Law of Banishment and Guilt Link.

    Now does the same way of reading make sense if for example I were allowed to play just all of my cards in their respective placement zones of the opponent ?
    I would not say so. Lets look at some examples.

    Placement zone discard :
    All Action spells but Strange Copy which is more an ally. Before Nightsong Cricket this would have made no difference what so ever.
    Also all Reaction spells but particle shield go into the discard and with what i wrote above you would just gift your opponent a particle shield because they would read it as if they played it.

    Placement Zone Unit :
    Well you are already allowed to place alteration spells where you want. Also this kind of strengthens my point that you should be allowed to do this nonsense.
    Body inversion even goes out of its way to speak about the player who attached it instead of just "you".

    Placement Zone Battlefield :
    Essentially this where allies go and it would only make sense to give those to the opponent if they were impotent AND cheap. You would never give your opponent a 3 cost or even 2 cost ally no matter what because it is to expensive.
    Only small allies like Raptor Herder or Frost Fang would make sense.Anchornaut would never be bad because it can kill it self. Raptor herder would have to be read from their perspective and could only bring in a raptor if they have them in their conjuration pile in which case it is probably a bad idea.
    If you look at the ally list there is hardly anything to abuse if the opponent have more than 1 battlefield slot. The best i could think of was Shield Mage.
    While you can not attack your own units most effects that deal damage allow for friendly fire at which point the fact that the unit is on your side of the battlefield matters very little. #ripmaeoni
    Also many decks run cards that sacrifice their own Units. This is hardly exploitable.

    So i rest my case. Augury is meant to be played onto the opponents Spell Board.
    This is unintuitive but makes a lot of sense from a balance perspective - sounds very ashes to me.

  • mbauers#3z4y commented on the deck Rally Rin:

    Feb 18, 2019 PST

    Nice description! LOL

  • NIUMath#1tss published a deck!

    Feb 18, 2019 PST

    W-Phant

    James Endersight

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Augury:

    Feb 18, 2019 PST

    You can use this to pay for discard costs in the form of 1 [[basic]].
    Does not seem too great but at least it is an idea for a use case.

  • ChristianPratt#14mt published a deck!

    Feb 18, 2019 PST

    Rally Rin

    Rin Northfell

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the card Guilt Link:

    Feb 18, 2019 PST

    You can add additional dice only by playing next Gates Thrown Open.

    technically you do not add dice to an existing copy. Each Card has a different dice pool on it.
    If a copy is removed from play, all dice on that copy go into the exhausted dice pool.
    You can not even remove dice from gates thrown open to re roll them at the end of the round.

    Probably should not discuss this under guilt link.

  • lidjan1#40jr commented on the card Guilt Link:

    Feb 18, 2019 PST

    After using up all the dice card stays in your spellbook. You can add additional dice only by playing next Gates Thrown Open. Mantion that for example Chant of Protection says to discard it when there are no tokens left

  • Cichociemni#50z8 commented on the card Guilt Link:

    Feb 18, 2019 PST

    Does Gates Thrown Open remain after all dice are removed from it or is it then discarded? Can you add additional dice?

  • Cronos Genesis#9i6t commented on the post Noone likes Sembali:

    Feb 18, 2019 PST

    I guess that if the game gets continued that Veil of Darkness will be modified to be a generic card and printed later on.
    Sembali probably had a whole deck build around exhausting ready spells during testing and some of the ideas from that are bound to come around later - i hope.

  • NIUMath#1tss commented on the post Noone likes Sembali:

    Feb 18, 2019 PST

    So much better. I wish dark won. Veil of Darkness is awesome and is much more unique than the current unique which is just a better vanish.